Association of North of England Physicians Committee Members

The Association has a Committee of members who assist the Secretary and President. The Committee meet prior to scheduled meetings to score and select abstracts submitted for presentation.

The Committee members represent subspecialties across the wide spectrum of Internal Medicine.

Dr Colin Doig, Hon Secretary

Dr Colin Doig is a Consultant Physician and Cardiologist at North Tyneside Hospital.

Dr Peter Trewby, President

Peter Trewby studied chemistry at Cambridge before changing to medicine. After his clinical studies at St George's Hospital and junior posts in London he was appointed consultant physician and gastroenterologist in Darlington in 1981. He has held posts as RCP Regional Advisor, CPD advisor and RCP Censor and been a PACES examiner since 2005. He established and chaired the RCP working party on overseas doctors in 2006 and in 2008 was awarded the British Association of Physicians of Indian Origin award for his work with overseas doctors. Since 2010 he has been RCP Associate International Director responsible for the Medical Training Initiative scheme. His main research interest has been in communicating risk to patients.. He has been a member of the Associations Physicians for 25 years and initiated and still edits "The Proceedings".

Dr Janice O'Connell

Janice O'Connell is Senior Lecturer in Geriatric Medicine at Newcastle University and Consultant Stroke Physician at Sunderland Royal Hospital. She qualified from the University of Glasgow and did her early postgraduate training in Scotland. She emigrated south of the Border to take up her Senior Registrar post in General and Geriatric Medicine and has remained in the North East ever since.

Janice's current post includes a major contribution to medical education as Undergraduate Clinical Tutor in Sunderland and also Course Director for the Chronic Illness, Disability and Rehabilitation module for the MBBS programme. She also has considerable involvement in postgraduate education and training. She was previously Meetings Secretary for the British Geriatrics Society and was appointed recently as Regional College Advisor for the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow. She has undertaken research in the field of cerebrovascular disease for a number of years. She is a member of the Clinical Advisory Group for the North East Stroke Research Network and is currently involved in several portfolio studies.

Dr Kate Armitage

Following graduation from Newcastle University in 2006 I am now working as an Acute Medicine speciality trainee in the Northern Region. I have a specialist interest in medical education, and am working towards my Diploma in Clinical Education at Newcastle University. My experience as a teaching fellow for Northumbria Healthcare Foundation Trust allowed me to achieve honorary clinical teacher status at Newcastle University, where I was involved in a collaborative project to design inter-professional teaching material on medication safety. Most recently I have been involved in a regional quality improvement project regarding patient handover. I am the STC representative for Acute Medicine in the Northern Region, and also sit on the SMTC as the trainee representative.

I am passionate about Acute Medicine as a speciality. One of my reasons for becoming involved in the Association of Physicians was to promote Acute Medicine within the Association, and to encourage other trainees to join.

Dr Ifti Haq

Dr Ifti Haq is a Consultant Cardiologist working at The Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

Dr Clive Kelly

Dr Clive Kelly is a Consultant Rheumatologist at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Gateshead.

Dr Elizabeth Tarala

Dr Elizabeth Tarala is a Specialist Registrar Acute Medicine and Junior Doctor Representative.

Dr Leanne Graham

Dr Leanne Graham is the Secretary to the Assosication.